How Do I Choose a “Cheap” Smartphone and What Are My Doubts?


My Samsung Galaxy A13

This post is quite paradoxical, as few people who read technology blogs would buy a mid-low range smartphone like the one I want to purchase, or so it seems to me. I might be wrong and have a number of readers.

It’s also true that people might buy a phone for a family member or advise a friend.

I’m Going to Retire My Galaxy A13 for These Reasons

It’s one of the lowest-end phones I’ve had (I’ve had several), and although it’s my secondary mobile, I barely use it due to how limited it is and how much it “struggles” to do anything. It’s also true that I’m whimsical with technology.

However, being a Samsung, it wasn’t as cheap as others I’ve had. Its price was around €200. And that’s precisely my lower limit for buying a smartphone:

👉I DO NOT RECOMMEND buying anything below €200 (except for spectacular offers on more expensive phones), because you’ll end up suffering.

Samsung has higher prices than other brands for the same range, but it has its advantages.

Without Having Had Many Different Smartphones, It’s Hard to Get It Right When Buying, and Even Then…

Choosing the right smartphone is a laborious task that nobody usually does. People buy based on PRICE, because their telephone operator offers it, or because someone they know has one and says it works well.

I’ve had dozens of smartphones and I have many doubts… imagine other people with less interest!

Here’s my story: [Link to the user’s previous smartphones post]

It’s Always Difficult to Completely Change Brands… and “Old Habits Die Hard”

I’ve had several brands, quite a few, but mainly Xiaomi and iPhone4. And it’s hard for me to switch to others unknown to me like Oppo, Realme, Motorola, Vivo5… They never seemed “complete” despite their price. Either they lack good processors, or they lack support and updates, or they don’t stand out much in anything. In general, they have less power and features than Xiaomi and the same or worse deficiencies in the mid-range.

But You Also Get Tired of the Shortcomings of Some Brands Like Xiaomi

Specifically, one of the doubts I have is whether the current Xiaomi/Poco/Redmi in the €200-€300 range are the best or if they don’t deserve the opportunity.

There’s always a Xiaomi smartphone among the bestsellers: The Redmi Note 13, the Poco X6… they have good processors for the mid-range, decent Amoled screens, adjusted price, and many offers.

But My Doubt Is Whether I Will Tolerate Their Usual Shortcomings in This Price Range:

Redmi Note 13

This is valid for the POCO X6, Redmi Note 13, and their variants

And Amid These Doubts, I See Samsung as a Safe Bet, With Its Little Problems

I’ve had three Samsung mid-low or low-range phones and I’ve always appreciated their virtues:

Then it has its disadvantages, but they are understandable because its support policy has a cost:

  • Higher price than the competition
  • Cuts in the mid-low range: larger edges, less aesthetic plastics, less brilliant processors…

I Like the Samsung Galaxy A35, Which Is at the Limit of My Price Range

It’s a total mid-range, in my opinion. Aesthetically beautiful, quite solvent processor, good screen, good camera… It’s like an A54 “somewhat downgraded”: less RAM, different camera sensor… But the same processor and screen.

I know that for a little more there is some more powerful and popular Xiaomi, but I value Samsung’s support and software a lot.

We’ll see what I do.


Publicado por

josuso tech

I love Technology

Deja un comentario

Este sitio utiliza Akismet para reducir el spam. Conoce cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.